Benfica and FC Porto play first ‘clássico’ in the seventh round of the I Liga


It takes place on the weekend of September 30th and October 1st, in the ‘incarnated’ enclosure.

Benfica, current champions, and FC Porto, runners-up, star in the first classic of the 2023/24 edition of the Portuguese Football League on matchday seven, at Estádio da Luz, in Lisbon, dictated the draw held this Wednesday.

In Lisbon, it was decided that the first game between the ‘greats’ will put ‘eagles’ and ‘dragons’ face to face, in the seventh round, on the weekend of September 30th and October 1st, at the ‘red’ venue.

The national champions will host the two main rivals in the first round of the championship, as they also receive Sporting in the 11th round, scheduled for November 11th and 12th.

In December, on the weekend of the 16th and 17th, Sporting and FC Porto meet in the derby at Estádio José Alvalade, in Lisbon, while Benfica visit Sporting de Braga, in the 14th round.

As usual, the second round of the competition is a ‘mirror’ of the first half, the 31st round, repeats these clashes, with the ‘dragons’ receiving the ‘lions’ and the ‘eagles’ the minhotos, at the weekend April 27 and 28, 2024.

In the second round, FC Porto and Benfica play at Estádio do Dragão, in Porto, in the 24th round, while Sporting receives the eternal Lisbon rivals in the 28th round.

Bracarenses receive Sporting in the fourth round

Sporting de Braga, in addition to the clashes with the national champions, faces FC Porto on ‘blue and white’ terrain, on the 17th round, on January 16 or 17, 2024, and at home, on the 34th and last , on May 18 or 19, 2024.

Braga will host Sporting, on matchday four, on September 2 or 3, when rivals from Minho Vitória de Guimarães visit Benfica, and visit the ‘lions’, in the 21st round.

The ‘arsenalistas’ have the reception to the eternal rival from Minho Vitória de Guimarães scheduled for the 16th round, already in 2024, on the same day in which the Porto derby between FC Porto and Boavista, in Bessa, is disputed.

The 90th edition of the main national football championship kicks off on the weekend of August 12th and 13th, after the Cândido de Oliveira Super Cup dispute between Benfica and FC Porto, winner of the Portuguese Cup, on August 7th or 8th, at Estádio Municipal de Aveiro, and will end on May 19, after 34 rounds.

Last season, Benfica was crowned national champion for the 38th time, finishing the I Liga with 87 points, ahead of its predecessor FC Porto, in second place, with 85, and Sporting de Braga, third, with 78, while Sporting did not go beyond fourth place, with 74.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent News

Editor's Pick